Morning rambling

Good morning and happy Feeling Better Day! Yeah I know it’s not a holiday or anything special but today I’m feeling better than the rest of the week because the germs my kids gave me are finally done with this old body. Yes, they germed me again. “Oh it’s just allergies” My ass it was allergies. Actually my ass escaped the worst of it as some of the family had a horrible time on the toilet with a bucket in their hands. Glad we missed that one.

I was seriously on the road to amazing health and fitness and now I’m set back a month as all my exercise leading up to this virus has fallen off. Starting over week coming up. OK it’s not that amazing and I still have no pecs and skinny thighs but damn I was actually running for sections of my morning walk and dogs weren’t even chasing me!

So I have to start over now. Amazing how one week of coughing and snot can set you back at this age. It was even tough to practice guitar with a nose faucet. I now realize how often I look down at the fretboard. Yuk.

I wonder if High Beam and the Black Dog of Death missed me this week. I started walking with a light so I don’t sneak up on people. Apparently I don’t make much noise as I’ve startled a few people walking up behind them. I have my earbuds in and get lost in a podcast or music and don’t even realize I’m being creepy so now I light up.

Some mornings I find myself wanting to sing when a good song comes on. Depending on the song that could be kind of creepy if someone hears it. The Police, Every Breath You Take might be one of those songs…

Every breath you take. Every move you make. Every step you take. I’ll be watching you.

Probably not one to sing out loud when behind someone in the dark. The worst I’ve done is probably replying to something said in a podcast. “Oh fuck off!” Hopefully I was alone at that point. So that Police song is played at weddings but do you know it’s about a talker? Yeah. Have a laugh next time you hear it.

I did get some riding in. Finally had the tides and the weather come together for a sunrise bike ride. I did a beach ride and then hit the trails as the sun got a little higher. It was a good ride and when I finished I pulled out the camp chair and relaxed with a bit of tea and watched the world come to life again. As you know I love my morning solitude. Gives me time to reflect and refocus.

I think I’m pretty lucky to have the time and place to do this so I take advantage. Everyone loves a sunset but I prefer the sunrise. If I lived on the beach I’d be seeing it every day as it broke the horizon but then afterwards I’d be worrying about erosion and my house sliding into the ocean. Tranquility only lasts so long.

On this particular morning I said goodbye to my Mom as her ashes slipped through the currents taking her out to sea. It was good to have this moment. She loved the beach and would always tell me about her and her girlfriends road trip to the Carolinas and their time on the beach. I’m sure I didn’t get the full story. Her smirk leads me to believe there was a lot more to that adventure.

I’m getting more time on the bike now. We have some good trails nearby and there is always the Low Tide Rides. I’m actually contemplating a bike in and camp trip somewhere. I’ll have to do more research on that. I don’t see myself pedaling uphill anywhere so that my limit my options 😀

1 thought on “Morning rambling

  1. It was good to hear from you. Glad you’re feeling better. Kiddo’s bring so much joy but oh so many germs!!! Take care my friend. Keep enjoying life.

    Like

Leave a comment